Red Bull Showrun Santiago 2012

Foto0575

In a country like Chile where the F1 isn’t a popular sport although a Chilean Driver drove in F1 but many of you remember him because a Triple World Champion tried to kill him at Hockemhein.

Also not everyday an F1 comes to Chile!

When i went to this event wasn’t planed to being in the Vip Zone….So here’s the story.

I was waiting with Felipe (My step-brother) at the Showrun and Dad was searching for a parking spot. Meanwhile we were waiting him, I found funny things; some people were selling David Coulthard’s Flags not the Scottish Flag. Flags with his face also I saw people selling F1 Souvenirs and all those things and of course Red Bull to be honest was a quite expensive; I have a market near to my house and they sell a Red Bull more cheaper.

Along side me was a Chubby guy with this heavy smell of Cigarettes and he was wearing a Red Bull T-shirt and he spent the whole time talking and talking about his T-shirt, pretty boring to be honest.
Then my Dad call us and he was making the try to get some VIP Passes for the three of us. Meanwhile the Chubby guy along side with  me was talking and smoking like a crazy.
Then my dad returned and I thought “damn it he couldn’t make it” then I saw in his hand 3 Yellow wristbands and that was it, I was in the VIP Zone for the Showrun!

My Golden Ticket!

My Golden Ticket!

How my Dad received those VIP Passes?:

Well, he works for “El Mercurio” one of the most importants Newspapers in Chile although I don’t share their way of thinking (Editorial). So i was in as a “Photographer Assistant” for El Mercurio for two hours then I swapped to Radio Santiago. For that day i was Alonso Manso “Photographer Assistant” for Radio Santiago.

So i was IN. When you are in the VIP Zone doesn’t matter what kind of event everything it’s so different, the VIP Zone was near to the Red Bull’s Garage.

Red Bull's  Garage

Red Bull’s Garage

How to describe that in one word … “¡¡FREE!!” free Red Bull, free Food, free Corona, Etc.

So i started my “grid walk” around the track, was a quite bumpy the Streets in Santiago are very bumpy. I started to salute the crowd yes the crowd made feel like a Rockstar.

Foto0557

Then I went to the Red Bull’s Garage they carried two cars in one of those cars were testing the engine. Was one of the most amazing experiences in my life; damn that engine sound is loud!

2012-11-11 15.10.08            2012-11-11 15.09.57

David David!!!!:

From the Red Bull side I met Engineers and the Driver himself, David Coulthard. I was in the press conference in the Garage and he was talking from the Garage, I don’t remember all the questions but i remember one especially : “Why you never won the Drivers Championship?” David said: “I didn’t put my 100% that’s why”. During the Press Conference I tried to speak David but one of the Stewards looked at me, his expression was like “hey kid you are too young to be Reporter” so I decided to hide between the Cameras.

Meanwhile i was walking on the track i met cool people for example I had the honour of meeting Francisco “Chaleco” Lopez who is one of the most famous Bikers in the Chilean Motorsport history,  he was 3rd  in the 2013 Rally Dakar in Bikes and one of the most nicest guys I’ve ever met.

At least i could take this picture but the best was coming.

At least i could take this picture in the Press Conference but the best thing was coming.

After that failed attempt  i started to speak with some of the Engineers they told me this “this the best job of the World” and they have a lot of reasons to tell me that.

2012-11-11 14.38.14

David please?

After that talk with the Engineers i returned to the VIP Zone and i saw a in a corner was David Coulthard speaking to the Guesses in the VIP Zone he started to talk about his job in the BBC and the F1 Forum, he talk about Vettel, Webber, Alonso in fact thought in Chile there was a lot of Alonso fans because we speak Spanish and the Spanish conquest.
After that conversation with the guesses. I don’t know if the luck was on my side but David was technically alone in the corner sitting and talking with some people.

So  finally i started to talk with David and we spoke for five-eight minutes, David told me he played Football and ate some Chilean Food he was having a good time in Chile. I don’t why but i didn’t had the balls to ask for a pic with him but i had the balls to ask if he could sign my Cap and ¡taran!

\o/

\o/

I couldn’t believe it. ¡¡I SPOKE WITH A FORMER F1 DRIVER….AND HE SIGNED MY CAP!! (¡¡and the Scottish people have the same accent!!).

Then David leave…he have a Showrun to do!

The Showrun:

Foto0576

David did some Donuts and high speed sprints and one of the most coolest things started to play the Chilean anthem
¡¡¡¡it was awesome!!!!

After that he did a second stint of Donuts and high speed sprints then the floor of the car broke due the bumpy surface of the Streets, but I was happy. One of the best days in my life.

See more pics of the Showrun here on my personal Flickr:  http://flic.kr/s/aHsjCNYShY

Responder

